RSS Feed

Garden Diary Update: Hollyhocks and Chives

Posted on

I have just looked at our garden diary to refresh my memory for this garden blog post, only to be faced with a dreadful fact. Not to beat about the bush (no pun intended) I see that we haven’t written a single garden entry since December 2015. Haphazard we may often be at diary keeping, but eight months of no entries is hitting a new low even for us. As it happens, this hasn’t been our most industrious gardening season, but even so, you would be forgiven for thinking that we’ve done nowt this year to judge by the accusingly blank pages. Dear reader and garden lover, I promise you that we were not entirely idle this year; merely not as active in the compost as we usually like to be.

After a spring in which we didn’t manage to get any flower or vegetable seeds sown, we decided that this season we would effectively mark time. It was to be a year of maintaining, improving, dividing and re-planting before making fresh plans for next spring. There was even a foolish plan to clean and re-varnish the garden furniture. I have to confess directly that I have never even picked up a piece of sand paper. I have however, lifted and divided a patch of chives and attempted to do the same to some badly placed hollyhocks. The chives were very accommodating and fell in with my wishes, whereas the hollyhocks fought back resiliently. It may have been a mistake to attempt to move and divide them, but I initially planted them in the front of a border, where they are also struggling for headroom because of spreading tree branches. In short, to get the best out of the plants, a move was required.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I raised hollyhock (Antwerp Mixed) seedlings in 2010 and bedded out the young plants the following year. The Mr Fothergill’s seed packet promised a variety of shades in pink and yellow flowers but I think I only ever had one pink shade, which was not robust and subsequently died. The single yellow shade is pretty and the flowers seem to be attractive to bees so I am anxious to keep hold of my home raised progeny. I decided to cut the stems down as far as possible, so that it would be easier to dig out the roots. At this stage of growth, I am not even sure whether I am trying to lift one large plant or multiple smaller ones. I encountered problems when starting to dig a trench around the hollyhock, when I found it hard to distinguish which roots belonged and which were spreading hedge roots. Either way, after much digging I could not find a way to release the plant(s) without damage. The result of my attempted hollyhock moving is that the original plants remain exactly where they were last year, having stubbornly refused to let go. They have even flowered, though admittedly not profusely.

Thus, I still have my original hollyhock in situ for another season, with the prospect of much more digging and disentangling of roots if I am ever going to move it. On the plus side, I now have several small plants from the off cuts, two of which I have settled into a spare patch in the border (suitably near the rear). All I can say is that hollyhocks are certainly tough customers and born survivors. This must be good news for our local bee population, along with the fact that my chives are proliferating madly and likely to take over the remainder of the garden. Bees seem to love the chive flowers so I never bother to remove them, as I believe you are supposed to do, so you have better flavour in the leaves. I have re-planted most of the divided chives in odd spaces that need filling. While doing that, I cut down many of the plants and have chopped and frozen chives leaves to use during the winter. We love doing scrambled eggs with chives; they are also nice in egg mayonnaise.

That’s all for now on the garden front; I still need to plant out a couple more hollyhock off-cuts and the remainder of the chive roots. I have made a gallery of what is growing now and will offer another garden update soon (I hope!).

How does your garden grow?

 

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Experimenting with Freezing Vegetables | Curiously, Creatively

  2. Pingback: Putting the Garden to Bed…Again | Curiously, Creatively

  3. Pingback: Autumn Leaves: Putting the Garden to Bed…Again | Curiously, Creatively

Leave a Reply

