RSS Feed

Creative Card-making

Posted on

Recently, I’ve been experimenting with a bit of card-making, spurred on first by Christmas and then by approaching birthdays. Another motivation was a paper craft workshop which I observed at Liberties Upstairs in Terenure recently.

The idea that I used for the Christmas cards was making what I have termed, ‘hole punch snow’,  which I made  from the silver paper Christmas cracker hats. I punched holes in the paper and used the little circles that are the side effects of hole punching as snow. The snowflakes are cut from folded coloured paper. I’ve been using basic bought cards and envelopes to save the hassle of having to cut them out straight.

I’ve also started to make some birthday cards using stencils and markers. I decided to use both sides of the card for most of these because the stencils that I have are quite large. Although very simple this technique looks striking, particularly when bright colours are used. My stencils are from old kits or colouring sets, but it wouldn’t be too hard to make your own from cardboard, maybe I’ll try that next.

Stencilled Cards

Simple, striking birthday cards

Another idea I tried was making designs from simple leaf shapes cut from paper. I arranged these shapes to represent flowers, waves, the beach and so on. It’s easy but the different colours and sizes make it very varied. I also tried using textured paper for this as I had some coloured corrugated card in stock as well.

Collage Cards

Designs made with paper shapes

The paper workshop that I watched at Liberties Upstairs also gave me some ideas. This class, facilitated by Camilla Fanning involved ribbon weaving to make card designs as one of its techniques. This is something I definitely want to try. I could use wool, raffia or papers stripes as well as ribbon, so look out for future updates on my card-making attempts.

Quilling is another skill which is useful for card making, and I’ve done a bit of this before. For quilling, you use narrow paper strips and roll them into different shapes. However, as it makes 3D designs, it makes the card difficult to post. Also, I lack the patience to spend time cutting the strips, particularly as mine never seem to end up with straight edges. There are excellent tutorials on Youtube about quilling and it’s not at all difficult, so do give it a try if you have never done it before.

Quilling Cards

A design made with quilling

Card-making can be very simple and is useful and practical as well, because often a home-made card will suffice even if you have no present to give!

Please leave a comment below if you have any other ideas or projects you are working on!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Colourful Greetings Cards | Curiously, Creatively

Leave a Reply

